Crunchy Cheese Crackers

I have a love for chips and salty, crunchy things. It was an unfortunate problem in the early days of grain free. There are a few prepackaged type of sweet potato chips but they are expensive and not as good as making things at home.

I came across a recipe for Keto goldfish crackers awhile back. It was from here. I loved this at once and found it settled my salty crunchy cravings. I did make one minor change, and I also usually make this in a much larger quantity than the original recipe called for.


These crackers aren’t too difficult to make, but there is a bit of time that the dough has to sit. In my opinion the longer you refrigerate the better! This is a type of treat that I make the dough in the morning, then after finishing all our homeschool tasks I roll it out and bake it. By making a large quantity I usually have enough to last most of the week.
Ingredients:

4 oz cheddar (you can use shredded or just cut into chunks)

4 tbsp. butter, cut into chunks

4 tbsp. coconut flour

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp garlic powder

Place all ingredients into a food processor. Mix until it is a big ball.

Place ball into cling wrap and set in refrigerator for at least 45 minutes. The longer you chill the dough the better. If it is room temperature it will stick and make it hard to form little “chips”. Patience is key. 😉

Once you have let the dough chill, place the ball in between two sheets of parchment. I usually break the ball into 3 sections just so I don’t have such a big ball to roll out. You want to try and get the dough to about 1/8 inch. This is really a preference thing though. If you want super crunchy: roll, roll, roll! If you want super, cheesy, gooey crackers: leave it just a bit thicker.

Once it is desired thickness cut it into triangles. Mine are usually a bunch of varying sizes, as this is a job I task out to my 12 or 8 year old. Transfer to a parchment covered cookie sheet. Bake at 325*F for 4-6 minutes for thin crackers, 6-8 minutes for thick crackers.

Enjoy! This is also a great low carb snack if you are eating a ketogenic diet. My husband and I occasionally go Keto to drop weight quickly.  You can get easily over 100 crackers if they are thin, but the amount of finished snack depends on the size and thickness.

These little cheesy snacks also pack in some protein, fat, and only 14 net carbs for the entire batch. Not too bad for a tiny cracker, eh?

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. glutenfree vegetarian meal ideas says:

    This is great. I want to try these Tfs

    Like

Leave a comment